From Tears to Hatred

tristes

In fifty-four years we have gone from devastation and tears over the assignation of our President to laughing at the portrayal of our President being killed in a play. What Happed?

The generations that walked the halls of my school on that day in history when our President was gunned down are the same people that have raised the citizens that are now protesting, threatening the President and his family, and laughing at horrendous comments made about the President and his family. If they didn’t raise them, it’s their grandchildren spreading hate and discontent. And I’m not sure over what?

Let me say that I was raised in a divided house. My father was a dye in the wool Democrat, and my mom was a Republican. Many conversations were held around the dinner table as to why one or the other should change their vote. No angry words were ever spoken. No name calling.  Just a comment now and then about their vote canceling each other’s.

Where is the universal respect for the office of the Presidency? Why is it now accepted to hate and bash? I understand people not agreeing with things the President does or wishes to do, but wishing him dead; I don’t understand at all.

What happened to our children and grandchildren that they have shunned manners and common respect for other humans? Mothers and fathers proud that their children are protesting, burning, fighting the police, threatening the President, belittling the First Lady, and verbally attacking their children. I just can’t bring myself to believe that my generation raised their children to behave like this even though I see it with my own eyes. What does one say to their child when they see their grandchild acting in this way, I often wonder.

I can only surmise this sort of behavior is a product of being entitled. Which is another problem I see with our country.

When in the Course of human events it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation.

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.

It doesn’t matter what you believe, in a creator, or nature, we have rights, not entitlements. We can pursuit happiness. This does not mean one is guaranteed to obtain happiness. If your pursuit of happiness brings harm and pain to others, then you should be stopped.

All the things I hear and read people saying about others, I wonder if they would say the same things in person in a one on one conversation.  Bravery and being a jackass seems to thrive in large crowds or on the internet.

Leave a Reply

