Retirement Learning

new glasses

I realized yesterday, or maybe the day before yesterday, I have learned a great deal about life and myself since I retired four years ago. Not necessarily in this order but I have learned:

I’ve spent my whole adult life cleaning house. Let it go a for a couple of days, and it’s as if I haven’t cleaned in months. To what end, I ask myself? With each passing year of retirement, I spend less time cleaning. The dirt will be here when I’m dead.  Screw cleaning.

I had a closet full of clothes and kept wearing the same ones over and over again. If I haven’t worn it in the past six months, I don’t need it. Good Will received some really nice things. Less really is more.

I stopped saving things for special occasions. In retirement, every day is a special occasion.

My parents always said not to put off till tomorrow what you can do today. Screw that. I put off things for weeks because I don’t really care if I do it today. What gets done today, yay! What doesn’t, oh well.

I’m on time for airline flights, doctor and dentist appointments and maybe a few other appointments. The rest of life can wait on me for a change. I spent over fifty years being early. Enough of that bull.

I never pass up a chance to not cook.

I don’t make excuses for not attending some function. I just say I don’t want to go.

If I curse in public, I don’t apologize, because I’ve earned the right. I have seen enough of this world to cuss if I want. Don’t like it walk away!

You let your child act like a screaming monkey in a restaurant, get ready to hear from me. Don’t even think about talking back because I’ll put your bad parenting in place too.

I leave the house with no makeup and my hair not fixed to meet the queen.  I don’t wear pajamas or sweats pants out and about, but I’ll go in clothes I wear to work in the yard. I still look better than most people at Wal-Mart.

Now you think I’m a grumpy old woman, but I’m not. I’m very happy and am enjoying my retirement. I wish I had learned these things before retirement.

Enjoy life, spend more time having fun than working. Don’t worry about trying to impress everyone. They really could care less. If people are talking about you, they are giving someone else a break.

Stop being so damn serious all the time. None of us are going to get out of this life alive.

Enjoy your life because you might not live long enough to enjoy retirement or to learn these things.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

