Badges of Life

WP_20140724_001_Fotor_Collage

You know the saying, “today is the first day of the rest of your life?”  This could very well be true but it could also be the last day of your life. I’m not trying to be cynical, it’s just the truth. The very fact that I woke up this morning, is a gift. Could things in my life be better. Sure, but they could be a lot worse.

I look back at the photos of myself over the years and I know that at all stages there were good times, trials, and tribulations.  However, I overcame and moved forward. Many times not at the pace I should have been moving but still I kept on trying.

The one thing I wish I could have gotten through my thick head in my youth would have been that this very day could be my last day. I would have never gone to bed angry. I would have always told the people I loved, just how much I love them. I would have walked away from bad relationships before I let them tear me down. I would have spent more time living my life instead of spending more of my life trying to make a living. I would have lived everyday as if it was my last, instead of living each day like I would live forever.

The silver in my hair and the wrinkles around my eyes are badges of life. The scares from a mastectomy and stretch marks are also badges. The scars on my shins from running into things and the scars on my hands from working hard are also badges.  How lucky I am to have lived long enough to earn these badges!

Will I earn a badge today, or will this be my last day of life, we know not what the future holds, and I’m good with that?  What I do know, is that the last time I talked with a person I care about, I told them I love them. If I saw them in person, I hugged them and told them I love them. The last thing I spoke to my husband last night was that I love him. And this morning when I awoke, I had a smile on my face, thankful of what I have and that I’m alive again one more day, whatever happens.

Leave a Reply

