I’m Giving It Up!

sinus headache

Just before my head exploded the other day, I decided it was time to do something about my addiction. Yes, I’m an addict.  I’m a news junkie. This all started in 2003 when my husbands started working overseas. I was still working but every chance I had, one of the 24/7 news channels was on my television. After I retired, my addiction worsened.

I started last week with tuning in on my local TV station in the mornings. They broadcast all morning, local news, traffic, weather, and tons of local good news stories. Stories about cooking, eating out in the area, events and very little world news or political crap. No CNN, no FNC, or HLN.  I did back slide and watch a few minutes of Fox and Friends.

Yesterday was the big step. I didn’t turn on the television until 2 pm! I did not check the headlines on my computer. When I did turn on the TV, I bypassed all the news channels. I even skipped the evening news and didn’t watch 60 Minutes. I have yet to watch the recorded television program, Sunday Morning, which I have watched faithfully for years.

I found that I was able to relax, even spending several hours out on the patio, enjoying the birds and reading. This morning over my first cup of coffee, I did turn on the news to see if anything happened that would directly concern my life today. I decided it was the same ol bullshit and turned the brain sucking television off.

I still believe people should be aware of what’s going on in the world, and just in their little world. I’m going back to my childhood, where we caught the morning news for a few minutes before we headed off to work or school. If we weren’t involved in some kind of activity, we would see the evening news. We survived just fine.

I’m not sure if I can keep this up, but for my peace of mind, I truly intend to try. News 24/7 is taking over our lives. We mindlessly listen to the same things over and over, every ten to fifteen minutes. I’m not a doctor or a scientist so I do not know the reasons why some of us are addicted to this but for me it’s time to stop. I’m giving it up.

 

 

Leave a Reply

