The Picket Fence

12548948_10208800066829343_9080677867281489456_n

Raised in the 50’s and 60’s, like most girls I thought life would be like the movies. I would meet the man of my dreams, we would fall in love, we would marry, have children and live happily ever after in the big white house with the white picket fence.

However, something called living life came alone and that movie had a different script writer. There were problems with the man of my dreams although we did fall in love and marry. Seems his dreams and mine weren’t the same.

Through years of working hard to make ends meet and learning things the hard way, one comes to an understanding with life. No matter how you try, bad things happen to good people. Good things happen to bad people. Make plans and you will find out just how quickly fast life will laugh at those plans. Learn to roll with the punches and laugh at the crappy times because laughing is much easier than crying.

Although I never got that big white house with the white picket fence, I have so much more. I have been fairly healthy in my life, except for the few times things tried to kill me. I survived and laughed along the way. I kissed a lot of frogs before I found the best frog, as none of us are princes or princesses. We are all human, all trying to figure out this strange thing we call life.

I’m a parent and just like life, I spent her childhood trying to figure out what parenting was all about. I don’t know how I did it, as I had no clue of what I was doing, however when I look at my adult daughter I puff up with pride.

She is my white picket fence that surrounds me with love and happiness. She is what kept me together through all those times I wanted to give up. Maybe I’m her big white house that she comes home to now and again to find comfort in my arms with a big loving mom hug.

My life might have turned out far different from what I pictured in my youth but I would not trade what I have for anything else. There is no amount of money that can buy a loving relationship with parents and their adult children.

Leave a Reply

