Tooting Your Own Horn

heart pounding

I’ve done a lot of things in my life, but promoting my own books is one of the hardest things I have ever done. Maybe this is why I was never in sales. I’m not comfortable trying to pitch or sell things. I’ll be the first one to tell a friend that they should try this or that. On the other hand, I’ll tell them I found a good recipe and share. I will even give them a book to read that I just finished. No problem telling them the book was great. Nevertheless, when it comes to promoting my own work, uncomfortable is putting it lightly.

It’s true torture for me to promote my books each morning. I tend to put it off for as long as I can. I’ll check emails, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and anything else I can before I set to promoting. I feel like I’m begging.

“Oh, please, pretty please! Read my books,” I say on the inside. While on the outside, I’m posting copies of reviews and making new little posters to entice new readers. “You will really like this book, if you like thrillers. Honest! Just please give a chance,” I’m thinking as I try to come up with some other kind of witty opening tweet.

Maybe this comes from my upbringing. I was always told not to toot your own horn. The big question is how I get over feeling as if I’m bragging when I’m promoting my own books?

With that said, I’m going to do some tooting.

MrPerfect.com tells the story of one woman, her path in life, and the choices she made. She learns she is strong and independent as she fights to survive a serial killer. Just like life, when she thinks everything if wonderful, she faces evil on a completely new level, in the second book, In the Genes. I’ve been told many times from readers, once they started both books, they could not put them down. This is the best compliment an author can receive. If you like thrillers, you can find both books at your favorite book website.

Like all authors, I would appreciate a review or an email regarding my work.

Leave a Reply

