Why Do I Keep Doing This??

making excusses

With all good intentions, for all of my adult life, I have spent countless hours exercising and becoming physically fit. At one time in my life, I would get up in the morning, ride my bike 3.5 miles to the gym, workout, and ride my bike back home before I went to work.

For some unknown reason, life always seemed to throw things at me that caused me to stop my fitness programs. Some times I was forced to stop immediately, due to illness or injuries. While other times, I just got lazy and over a long period of time, I would stop working out completely.

Six months to a year later, I would be back at it, starting all over again. You would think after forty some years of this kind of behavior I would learn to stick with it and never put myself through the starting over pain. Like I said, you would think.

This past spring I was riding 15-20 miles three and four days a week. I was keeping my weight down and was feel well. I guess I pissed the lazy gods off, as they struck me down with an uncontrollable bout of IBSD.  The lazy gods decided I would spend three months fighting this and trying to find some sort of relief. By the time the doctor’s came across a drug that cured my symptoms, it was full on, summertime in the Valley of the Sun, in Arizona. That means, by 7 in the morning, it’s too hot to do anything but stay indoors in the air conditioning and wait for fall. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Skip forward to October and 15 pounds. Here I go again, starting over. I have a new bicycle and tracker. Today I rode 6.2 miles. Two miles longer than my ride the other day. Tomorrow, maybe I will make it 7 miles. My goal is to ride to the gym, do a bit of swimming and ride home. I’m not talking about the 15 pounds. That’s more depressing than starting over on the riding.

I have figured out some things. Why do I keep doing this? Because, I hate exercising! I am not one of these people who love to exercise and then sit around telling others how good exercising makes them feel. Exercising makes me feel tired and hungry! I do not glow when I’m exercising. I’m sweating my ass off. My thermostat is already on high from menopause and the prescription drugs I take, so you imagine what I look like exerting myself. You are never going to see a photo of me exercising in a senior living magazine. You might see my photo in a senior living magazine flipping some other senior off as they ride past me, as I plug along on my bike.

Every time, some slim, trim, physically fit person tells me that they don’t have to exercise and they can eat anything they wish, I’d like to punch them in the face. Really? If life was fair, we would all be like that.  I stopped watching the Food Chanel, as I’m sure it had something to do with the added 15 pounds.

In the mean time, I have six months of cool Arizona winter weather to ride off the 15 pounds and get my mileage back up to 15-20 miles, so I can lay back next summer and be lazy again.  Why? Because at 66 years of age, I don’t see myself changing any time soon.

Leave a Reply

