Just Once I would Like…

Image 1

If you follow me, you know that on Friday I learned  MrPerfect.com was selected as a Thriller Finalist in the 2015 IAN Book of the Year Awards. Like a child, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about this news. You would think Santa Claus was on his way.

I’m amazed and extremely happy to be a finalist but try as I may, I can’t stop thinking on how I would feel if I won first prize. That surely would be like Christmas, Easter, Fourth of July and my birthday all rolled into on. I’m trying to not get my hopes up too high, as I don’t want to be too disappointed if I remain a finalist. I keep telling myself, finalist is very good.

But who am I kidding? I want to be the winner! Number one! Top of the list! There is nothing wrong with wanting to be first place!

My darling husband keeps telling me how proud he is of me and then asks, “How’s that sequel coming along?” It never fails that he peeks over my shoulder when I’m blogging or emailing. Just once I would like him to stick his head in the door and actually see me toiling away on the manuscript.

With that in mind, I suppose I should bet back to setting words to paper, or rather words to screen. I type so much these days, my once beautiful handwriting looks like chicken scratching. But, that’s another story…

Leave a Reply

