Americans First!

imagesDAO1OHE2

Today I will try to set the story straight for any of you that are confused over this battle flag and what it means to many and what it has always stood for many.

True, I was born in Detroit Michigan. You look at my birth certificate and you think, Yankee. But let me tell you, I have more Virginia blue blood running through my veins than most Southerners can claim. My genes come from a very long line of Southerners on both sides of my family. Both my parents were born in Arkansas. My mother’s side of the family were from Virginia and other parts south of the Mason Dixon Line. Daddy’s family were mostly German but they too were spread out all over the South.

In grade school, I took pride in the fact that I was of Southern Heritage. I was never taught any hate. I was raised that it wasn’t the color of a person’s skin  that made them good or bad. My Southern cousins were raised the same way.  I was taught that the Confederate battle flag was a symbol of a people who fought for State’s rights. I was taught that Southerners in general didn’t have any more slaves, black or white, than people up North. When I saw the Confederate flag, I never ever thought of slaves. I thought only of my heritage.

Now this is what I don’t understand: I hear Americans saying, I’m African/American, or I’m Irish/American, or I’m Mexican/American but if I was to go around and state that I’m Southern/American I would automatically be labeled a racist.

I don’t own a Confederate battle flag but I’m seriously thinking about buying one and flying it high. I have even seen other country’s flags flown above the American flag. So here is my stand:

If you are an American citizen, either born here or naturalized, then you are an AMERICAN. Nothing should come before that, ever. Why is it be alright for other people to be proud of their heritage to the point of labeling their forefather’s homeland before saying American. I’m getting sick of this whole subject.

Americans with African heritage should be hating other’s with African heritage, not us poor white folks with Southern heritage. Here is the reasons why!

According to colonial records, the first slave owner in the United States was a black man.

Prior to 1655 there were no legal slaves in the colonies, only indentured servants. All masters were required to free their servants after their time was up. Seven years was the limit that an indentured servant could be held. Upon their release they were granted 50 acres of land. This included any Negro purchased from slave traders. Negros were also granted 50 acres upon their release.

Anthony Johnson was a Negro from modern-day Angola. He was brought to the US to work on a tobacco farm in 1619. In 1622 he was almost killed when Powhatan Indians attacked the farm. 52 out of 57 people on the farm perished in the attack. He married a female black servant while working on the farm.

When Anthony was released he was legally recognized as a “free Negro” and ran a successful farm. In 1651 he held 250 acres and five black indentured servants. In 1654, it was time for Anthony to release John Casor, a black indentured servant. Instead Anthony told Casor he was extending his time. Casor left and became employed by the free white man Robert Parker.

Anthony Johnson sued Robert Parker in the Northampton Court in 1654. In 1655, the court ruled that Anthony Johnson could hold John Casor indefinitely. The court gave judicial sanction for blacksto own slave of their own race. Thus Casor became the first permanent slave and Johnson the first slave owner.

Whites still could not legally hold a black servant as an indefinite slave until 1670. In that year, the colonial assembly passed legislation permitting free whites, blacks, and Indians the right to own blacks as slaves.

By 1699, the number of free blacks prompted fears of a “Negro insurrection.” Virginia Colonial ordered the repatriation of freed blacks back to Africa. Many blacks sold themselves to white masters so they would not have to go to Africa. This was the first effort to gently repatriate free blacks back to Africa. The modern nations of Sierra Leone and Liberia both originated as colonies of repatriated former black slaves.

However, black slave owners continued to thrive in the United States.

By 1830 there were 3,775 black families living in the South who owned black slaves. By 1860 there were about 3,000 slaves owned by black households in the city of New Orleans alone.

Colonists began to see indentured servants as too costly, and in 1619, Dutch traders brought the first African slaves to Jamestown, who nonetheless were in North America at first generally treated as indentured servants. Maybe, people should start giving Dutch people some grief.

I’m sick and tired of hearing about this crap that started almost 400 years ago. Get over it! Your great,great, great, grand pappy being a slave or indentured servant has not one damn thing to do with what you do with your life. You are in control of your life, no matter what your skin color might be.

Until we think of ourselves as Americans first and our heritage second, things are only going to get worse. Why is this so hard to understand.

Do the freaking math! I believe the U.S. population is something like 9% American’s with African heritage, (I refuse to use African/American.) I have no idea what percentage of that 9% are registered voters. For argument’s sake, let’s say the population of the U.S. is 25% American’s with African heritage and 100% of them are registered voters and they all voted in the last two elections. That would still not be enough votes to elect a President with African heritage. Now where did all those other votes come from? Oh my god! People in the South and all over the rest of the country voted for Obama, not only once but twice. If we were a nation of racists, Mr. Obama would have never been elected!

I don’t know the numbers, but I would bet there are as many American Flag haters in our country as racist that affiliate themselves with the Confederate battle flag.

The truth be, you can’t stop evil people from using items to affiliate themselves with a cause. What would the media and the politicians say if the shooter in South Carolina had killed white people waving an American flag? Would they be demanding the Stars and Bars be taken down?

Be Americans first and forget all this other bullshit! It’s tearing this country apart.

2 responses to “Americans First!

Leave a Reply

