Today’s Hardships!

on patio

Everyone said, “Your first summer in the Phoenix valley will be the worst. If you make it through it, you’ll be fine.” That’s as big of a lie as, “But it’s a dry heat.”

The heat didn’t bother me last summer until the humidity of the monsoons arrived. Thought I would never make it. This year we are already breaking records. Yesterday it was 114* in Phoenix. Thank goodness I live out of the city and it is a bit cooler here. 111* by my personal little weather station. Gee, we almost had to put on a sweater. I will say, it has been dry. The humidity was only 9% yesterday. Oh boy, I can hardly wait for the monsoons to arrive when the humidity will rise to match the temperatures. Wahoooo.

I keep trying to convince myself that I’m as tough as the people who settled this valley. Another lie. It’s no wonder folks back then didn’t live as long as we do now. Forget the Apaches and the Comanche natives that would raid your homestead and leave you dead. It was the freaking heat that would have done most in. At 114*, wearing my petticoats and long dresses, with no air conditioning or electric fans, I would have been praying for an Indian raid and an arrow through my head. Of all the places to settle, I can think of many more better places to throw anchor other than this hot, barren, land.

If I had been a native American, (I’m being PC here and not saying Indian), I would have been up in the cool mountains, looking down on the valley saying, “Look at those crazy white men, settling down in the heat of the valley. When it cools off in January we will ride down into the valley and raid their homes. By then their brains will be baked and will have no strength to fight, if they aren’t already dead.”

Like I have said many times, our forefathers where much stronger than any of us. We, as a nation are spoiled and soft. Hardship is not finding the TV remote. God forbid if a storm blows through and the power is off more than ten minutes.

With that said, I’m off to get to the grocery store before the heat of the day arrives. After all, I must leave my air-conditioned home, drive in my air-conditioned car the mile and a half to the store, walk across the hot parking lot, shop in the air-conditioned store and then repeat the process backwards to get home. Oh, I do have to carry my groceries from the hot garage into the house. My forefathers would be so proud of me for enduring such a hardship.

Leave a Reply

