Rolling Of The Eyes

WTH

My dear daddy looked at me one time, when I was 19 or 20 and said, “You know Honey, some people live and learn, others like you just live.” Being stupid to even think of what he was telling me, but smart enough to say it aloud, I thought, yeah right, what do you know? It took me a long time to realize how right he was about that and many other things.

After being retired for almost three years, it finally dawned (no pun intended) on me this morning, why I blog. When I worked, we all would ponder over events and people in the news during our breaks and lunches. Just like many of my subject lines in my postings, most my co-workers thought I was pretty crazy and would laugh. I will be the first to admit, I make light of everything and everyone. Everyone that has ever worked with me knows I’m about as far from politically correct as one can get. I found making light of my own body before and after my mastectomy comforting. Not everyone can flex their back shoulder muscle and make their breast move up and down, but that’s another story.. ( You can read about that here: http://www.amazon.com/Boob-Bon-Voyage-Womans-Story-ebook/dp/B00BCA7N3O)

Now, that I’m not working, my water cooler comments and lunch time discussions travel from by strange and wonderful brain through my finger tips and onto my computer screen. I absolutely jump up and down with joy when someone responds to my comments on any of my social media sites. Lately, I have noticed that people are reading very old blogs from my site. That is just totally cool. Do people still say cool?

See Daddy, I do learn. It just takes me a while. I am learning if you beat your own drum long enough and loud enough, sooner or later someone will hear you. Please understand, this is very hard for me, because I was raised that you don’t toot your own horn. However, there weren’t things like self-publishing, LinkedIn, Facebook, or Twitter back then. Holy Crap, we didn’t have computers back then. If we wanted to text someone, we wrote a letter and stuck it in the mail. If we wanted to blab about something, we used a landline or waited to gather around the water cooler.

Since I have no plans on returning to work, my social media sites will continue to be my sounding board. I do miss the rolling of eyes and people telling me I’m crazy. Some folks just don’t have a sense of humor! Just saying.

Leave a Reply

