Easy Breezy!

Saturday banner

We all know that humans are absolutely the silliest things on the planet. The first thing most of us think when something is offered for free, we wonder what’s wrong with it. Proof is in a HGTV program where the host goes to a home improvement store like Lowe’s or Home Depot and offers some stranger to remodel their home or remake their outdoor areas for free. The people say no. I’m thinking if a man and a camera crew approaches me in a store, offering me a home makeover of some type for free, they will have a hard time keeping up with me, going to my car, yelling, “Come on, follow me!”

I have offered my book for free in person during some functions and have people look at me like I have an antenna growing out of my head. I want to scream, “It’s freaking free. If you don’t like it, you didn’t waste any of your money.”  They smile and walk away. Maybe they don’t read?

This weekend I decided to offer a free Kindle copy of my book, in hopes I can get some people to read my work and like what I have put out there. I’m very pleased that so many took advantage of the offer yesterday but I will admit I was hoping for more takers.

Over the years many of my friends have given me a book that they had just read. I never once asked what was wrong with the book. Never once have I heard, “This book really stinks, I think you should read it.” Why should it be any different when an author offers their book for free? Yet it is. People tend to surmise that if an author is giving their book away, they feel it’s not good enough to sell. Yes it’s good enough to sell, but I’m in the 600,000 plus authors that no one hardly has heard of and I’m trying to get my name known. Simple!

Just think of me as a friend that just read this book and I am giving it to you to read. How easy is that? Then after you read it, tell me if you liked it or not. Easy breezy.

Leave a Reply

