No Regrets

Image 1

It’s so easy to say, “No Regrets.”  Simple words but is it really possible to have lived this long and not have regrets?  It’s easier for me to think, “If I knew back when, what I know now, I would have done things a bit differently.” Is that having regrets?

I may feel regret for not saying I’m sorry to some people in my past when I was acting like an immature brat, but isn’t acting like a brat a part of growing up?

I find it hard to be sorry for the mistakes I have made when I was trying to do the right thing. I never tried to intentionally hurt anyone one. This got me to thinking about the lyrics to an old Waylon Jennings’ song, which might become my theme song.

” I’ve always been crazy and the trouble that it’s put me through
I’ve been busted for things that I did, and I didn’t do
I can’t say I’m proud of all of the things that I’ve done
But I can say I’ve never intentionally hurt anyone

I’ve always been different with one foot over the line
Winding up somewhere one step ahead or behind
It ain’t been so easy but I guess I shouldn’t complain
I’ve always been crazy but it’s kept me from going insane”

If I’m honest with myself, I can’t really decide what I would do differently if I could. Yes, lots mistakes but the good things far out weigh all the dumb, silly and even bad decisions made over the years. So yes, if you live long enough you can say, “Live Life with No Regrets,” because sooner or later the good out weighs the bad.

Leave a Reply

