Happy Friday Feeling

My beautiful picture

Just before sunrise, I woke with a tune from forty-four years ago playing in my head. Three Dog Night’s, Jeremiah was a bullfrog.(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QtYnCmw2CWE) The song was popular just about the time this photo was taken. There I was, twenty years old, sporting the big hair, a mini skirt and a maxi coat, with I’m sure some knee-high boots. I was styling!

I can’t remember if I was dreaming of this time in my life or if my mysterious brain was having a musical trip down memory lane.  What ever the reason, I couldn’t get the damn song out of my head. I got up, let the dogs out and made myself a cup of coffee. Straight to the computer to pulled up YouTube. With a smile on my face I sat and listened to the song several times.

So I wouldn’t get sucked into the YouTube vortex, I closed the window.  YouTube and Facebook are extremely dangerous. With all good intentions you click on the icons just to check out morning posts or to look at one video and you are sucked into the vortex of a bottomless pit. Hours later you crawl out and realize you have done nothing else and it’s almost noon.

Still the song keeps playing over and over in my head. I started to think about all the people in my life in 1971. Maybe this song was a sign that one of those people are thinking about me. Probably not. More than likely, just a great, happy feeling song creeping out of my memory chip in my brain to give me a happy start to the day.  I will take that and run with it.

When I wrote my first book, Going Nowhere Fast, I would often play songs from those years as I was writing. Many songs are attached to our memories, or at least they are to mine. Also for me, I take songs, memories or experiences and turn them into fictional stories. Which makes me wonder if other authors do the same thing?

For now, joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea, joy to you and me!
Find me or my work: ,http://www.facebook.com/pages/KD-Bloodworth/411342242325034 and http://amzn.com/B00OQJENJK

Leave a Reply

