Just Like That, Quick As A Wink

amaze

The last three months have been a struggle. Excuses by the dozens, responsibilities with family (which I do not think are excuses), brain freeze, writers block, insecurity, and the list goes on and on. What I’m trying to say, I was having a very hard time continuing with the third book. I blogged, I twittered, I was on Facebook what seemed for most off the day, just putting words on the computer screen trying to spark some interest in the sequel.

I wrote a few chapters here and there but they just wasn’t going in the right direction. I tried to outline my thoughts of where the characters should be going. That didn’t work. I rewrote several things. Reread what I had already written. Nothing was working. Self doubt crept into my veins. I still believe in my second novel. MrPerfect.com is after all still received good reviews and the sales are picking up. Still the thought that I might not have another book inside of me was consuming my brain every time I sat down at the computer. Even the encouragement from my husband and friends, wasn’t lighting the flame.

Saturday night I turned off my Kindle, took off my glasses and fluffed my pillow, preparing for a good nights sleep. I was just about to doze off when all of a sudden that little person that speaks to me from inside my brain said, “The time line is off.”

I suppose most authors would have jumped up, ran to the desk and started working. In case you haven’t figured it out by now, I’m certainly not like most authors, good or bad. No, I laid there in the dark, picking the story apart, finding the problems and calculating how to fix the timing of the events. Finally I fell asleep.

Yesterday, after I took care of my emails, Facebook and Twitter accounts, I printed out the chapters regarding the problem areas. With fresh coffee, the printed pages and a red ink pen, I took to the patio with my two dogs. With dogs at me feet and humming birds buzzing around, I lit the flame!

Several hours later I was at my computer deleting and writing. With new energy the words flew onto the computer screen. The time line repaired, a new direction for the villain and his deeds, which will influence how the story is told, but not the story which I have had in my head all along.

Just like that, quick as a wink, a thought in my head late one Saturday night, fixed everything that has been tearing at me for months. Does this happen to all authors? I don’t know. Has this happened to be before? Now that I think about it, yes it has. I think this time I was so worried about not writing, the worry strangled my creative thoughts.

I woke up this morning eager to get back to the story where I left off last night. For this writer, that’s what it’s all about. The “joy” of putting thoughts into words that other people wish to read.

Find me or my work:http://www.facebook.com/pages/KD-Bloodworth/411342242325034 and http://amzn.com/B00OQJENJK

Leave a Reply

