I Didn’t Plan This!

Image 1

I’m retired! How does it come about after years of jobs where I spent my days in front of a computer that in my retirement, I’m spending my days in front of a computer?  WTH?

Okay, so I will be the first one to admit that my retirement is not what I had planned.  To be honest, I really didn’t plan on retiring until I was 65 or older.  However, 62 came along and I had already fought a good fight with breast cancer, so I decided why not retire.  Retiring at the younger age was only a slight difference in my retirement check if I worked until I was sixty-five.  Sounded like a no brainer to me.

I always knew I would not be one of those retirees that complained about being bored.  There is too much in this world to learn and do for me to ever get bored.  Oh, sure in my past I had often said, “I’m bored,” but I wasn’t really.  What I should have said as I plopped down in my chair was that I was tired and couldn’t make up my mind which project I wanted to cram into my two days off.

Being retired meant that I could go to the grocery any day of the week I wished, or do laundry on a whim, and even do absolutely nothing.  Doing absolutely nothing is a learned skill I have achieved over the past couple of years.  I’m still not very good at it but there are hours that I hold down my favorite chair and actually enjoy it.  That was something I hardly ever did when I was holding down a job.

My second book went live on Amazon last month and I’m into the writing of my third book.  Holy smokes, I don’t feel like I am retired other than I’m not punching a time clock.  I spend most my day at this computer, either promoting MrPerfect.com or writing.  I’m now finding less time to hold that chair down and having to pick times when I need to clean house or do laundry.  Oh, and the cooking?.  That has suffered lately also. Thank goodness my darling husband cooks or doesn’t care if dinner is a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

I won’t go as far to ay that this writing and promoting is like a full-time job, working for the man.  No time clocks, no scheduled lunch times and I can pick and choose when I want to sit here.  On top of that, I can get up and walk away from my desk any time I wish and no one is giving me the evil eye.

The best thing of all, when the words are coming easily I can sit here as long as I wish and if I’m having a bad day, I can get up and walk away.  Why in the hell didn’t I figure this out years ago?  Maybe by now I would be really good at this writing stuff and I would have millions of people just waiting for my next book to come out.  Now, there’s a daydream for you!

So many people have told me how proud they are that I have written two books and have started the third one.  I tell them if they haven’t read them, they don’t know if the are good writings or not.  People all tell me the same thing.  “That’s not the point. Not everyone can sit down and put into words things they are thinking or feeling. Just to accomplish that is wonderful.”

This is how my unplanned retirement had evolved into what it is now.  It couldn’t be any better (unless I was filthy rich), if I had planned all of this. With that said, I need to get another cup of coffee, feed the dogs and decide what I’m going to do on this beautiful Sunday in the Phoenix Valley.

 

Leave a Reply

