We All Fight the Fight Differently

ry=400

I usually try to keep my post on a lighter side and my other blog Ask Dawn, for the most part is the really silly side of me.  However, this morning I’m dead serious with my thoughts, and no pun intended.  As I was waiting for my coffee to brew this morning, I watched a news spot on the young lady in Oregon who has chosen to have the ability to end her life.  She has terminal cancer. It doesn’t get much more serious than this.

Having lost both my parents to cancer, my father in-law, several friends and being faced with a diagnosis of cancer myself, I have a pretty good idea what one lives through when that diagnosis comes down and what you go through, fighting to stay alive.  Until you hear those words or fight that fight you have no clue.  You may think you do, but you don’t.  Everyone should be able to fight this fight in a manner that is best for them, not a family member or spouse or friend.  This fight is between the sick person and their beliefs, not yours.

When I was fist diagnosed with breast cancer, my first thought was, Okay, lets get rid of it.  That night sitting alone at my home it came to me that the cancer might have already spread as we wasn’t sure at this point.  The thing that kept flashing into my mind was the five-year fight my father in-law had fought with colon cancer.  How the cancer over came his body, spreading to his lungs, liver and finally his brain.  How for those five years, only two months was he able to live without taking some kind of chemotherapy.  The treatment was so much of the time worse than the disease.  When the cancer settled in his brain, he finally said that was enough.  I believe if he had lived in Oregon he would have ended all the suffering, but maybe not. None of us can judge that will to live in another person.  I wondered if I was faced with the suffering others go through would I do the same or want to end it all.  Thank goodness my cancer hadn’t spread and I was not faced with too many hard choices.

The report said this morning that a thousand people have received medications to end their lives since the law was passed in Oregon, but only five hundred have done so.  As the young woman said this morning, she isn’t killing herself, the cancer is killing her.  It’s her choice when to help it along.

I’m sure most of you were raised just like I was, that it’s against God’s laws to take your own life.  Whether you believe that or not, it’s none of my business, any more than it’s your business what others believe.  When it comes to taking your own life because life is hard and you are having problems dealing with things, I want to tell people to suck it up. Life is hard for all of us, for the most part.  But then again, it’s their decision.

For all the people out there that are running their mouth, making comments about this woman and her decisions on her life or death as the case may be, shut the hell up.  It’s not your life, not your illness, not your decision or responsibility.

My heart and thought go out to this young woman and her family and I can only hope she does not suffer from the cancer or from her decisions.  I hope her last days will be filled with love and kindness and she will be surrounded by the people she loves and those that love her.  We should all be able to die under those circumstances.

 

One response to “We All Fight the Fight Differently

Leave a Reply

