Trampled On or Ahead of the Herd?

thCANKIEU9

The past month or so I have been trying to decide if life is stampeding over me or if I’m ahead of the herd.  Just when I think I’m ahead of the game of life, something throws me into dust storm and I find myself having trouble seeing a way out.   Being new at this writing thing, I don’t know if I have what they call writers block or as I put it, I’m just not in the mood to write.  Writing to me is like any other form of art, if I’m not in the mood I might as well stay away from the subject.

Point being, I use to sew most of my clothes and my girls clothes.  I loved putting things together and having a finished garment unlike anything I would find in a store.  A feeling of accomplishment.  If I wasn’t in the mood to sew and I needed to have something made up for what ever reason, you can bet that I would sew something wrong and end up having to tear out seams.  It never failed.  Same with my painting, not in the mood and  could not be able to get my ideas on the canvas to save my life.

So much has been going on in my life since the first the year I really do feel trampled on and cast aside at times.   I don’t suppose I have had any more stress in my life than anyone else.  I find different ways to handle the stress.  I almost always get through what ever is bothering me fairly easy which I think puts me leading the herd.  I usually turn to my work (my second book in the works) but then something else will tear me away.  Then I’m back to being trampled on.  This cycle has been going on far too long.

Well, since my first book did not make the best sellers list, I can not afford a maid or personal assistant.  So, today is house cleaning day for this new writer.  I got up early and have already finished my house.  Ahead of the herd again!  Now I’m on my way over to mom’s to clean her place.  It’s not even 9 a.m..  Really ahead of  the everything today, not just the herd.

I was told a long time ago to treat my writing as a job and go to the job everyday, work for set amount of hours and get your words down on paper.  I am going to try with all that I can muster to do that tomorrow.  Set myself a schedule.  Coffee, bike ride, breakfast, shower, work, lunch, and work some more.  I’m almost afraid to make those plans as sure as I do something will throw me back into the middle of the cycle.

From now on the only cycle I’m going to allow myself to be involved in is my bicycle!  Speaking of which I set a new personal best ride for Arizona of 13.48 miles yesterday.  Not sure how long it will take me to break that record but I’m going to give it a try.  Time to reach down deep inside and pull out the attitude I had when I was told I had cancer.  I have always been a strong-willed fighter in life and I’m not going to stop now.

Screw this being trampled on, I’m going to stay ahead of the herd!

 

 

Leave a Reply

