What Works?

Image 1

A long chain of events have kept me from my writing my second book.  Not that I haven’t thought about many angles of what will happen next or in which direction I should go.  This past week I have finally found the time from our move and my settling into our new home to edit what I have written.  I was worried that taking so much time off from the project would destroy the whole thing.   I find myself wondering if the great writers have delays in their works and how they handle them.

Being a new writer, my publisher told me that do what ever makes me comfortable.  Reaching back many years into writing classes I tried outlining my train of thoughts.  That just didn’t seem to work for me.  Then I used post-a-notes to keep things straight.  Now I print things out as I write them, make notes and edit.  I supposed writing is like everything else in life.  I make the bed differently from how others might but it’s still neat.  I might mow the lawn differently but in the end the grass is still shorter.

But the one thing I have found out for me anyway, leaving the story for a while and then going back to it with a fresh eye, really gets my creative juices flowing.  Isn’t that what it’s really all about?  I do believe that what my publisher told me just might be the best advice I have ever received regarding writing.  “Everyone writes differently and organizes differently.  It’s all about what works for you and getting your words from your mind to the paper.”

I don’t think I will ever be a James Patterson or another famous writer that pumps out a book two or three times a year.  My hope that I can improve with each book that I put to pen.  Now that I have my feet wet I feel I can do this again only better.  My manuscript I’m working on now is completely different from the first book.  A thriller of sorts, not in any way what I would consider a romance.  Reaching down into the depths of my brain as to what could happen and what scares me.  How I would handle the problem if it was me trying to escape a madman.

Now with that said, I need to get back to getting the lady saved from the killer and nature.

Leave a Reply

