From Our Mother’s Mouths

My beautiful picture

I saw a post the other day that said, “I opened my mouth and my mother came out.”  Holy Moly, that’s a true statement if I ever heard one.  Which in my case isn’t all that bad, I just wish I had been smart enough to become more like my mom much earlier in life.  I’m not saying my mom was perfect, as none of us are and as I told her years later, she was a good mom.  After all we do not pop out of the womb with an instruction tag on our toes.  We as parents, for the most part, just plug along and do the best we can.  All these people who write books on how to raise a child are guessing just like the rest of us.  Oh, I suppose there are good suggestions in these books but for the most part I think they are poppycock.

The real teaching of moms are handed down from generation to generation.  “If everyone you know was to jump off a bridge would you jump too?”  “Just because everyone else is doing it, doesn’t mean you will be allowed.”  “Because I said so, that’s why.”  “You do that one more time and you will be sorry.”  “If I have to turn around and talk to you one more time, I’m going to stop this car and spank you.”  “I said no once, don’t ask me again.”  “Be home by midnight or else!”  “How many times are you going to ask the same question?”  “Because I said NO, that’s why.”  “You can eat what I fix or go hungry.”  “You can’t leave the table until your plate is clean.”  “Wash these dishes over because you didn’t get them clean the first time.”  “You’re not going anywhere until your chores are done.”  “You are not old enough to do that.”  “No TV until your homework is done.”   And of course, “I SAID NO!”

If your mom ever uttered any of those quotes, you had a wonderful mom.  If you repeated those quotes, you did a good job too.  But that is just my opinion.  There was learning your inner self in my house when I was growing up.  I better be learning how to keep my outer self out of trouble.  Just so you know, that didn’t work out so well after I was about fifteen, but that’s another story.  Yes I was spanked and I will say with all honesty, I wasn’t spanked enough.  At the time I thought I had the most strict parents alive but now I look back and see just how soft they actually were on me.  They were doing their best to just keep me alive and from harming myself.  Of course I pushed the limit and as many buttons of theirs that I could, after all that is the job of the child.  It wasn’t until I had a child of my own that I understood why, “Because I said so, or because I said no, that’s why,” was a correct response.  I had to learn that I was the parent and in charge, not the other way around.

This year my daughter will be forty years old, and when we talk, I still hear my mother come out of my mouth from time to time.  And I smile.   Oh, my mom taught me to fish, just as I took my daughter fishing since she was four years old.

 

 

Leave a Reply

